By News-Register staff • 

Paulsen leading pack in Lafayette

 Updated 2 a.m., new numbers don't change expected results.


In Lafayette, where nine candidates are vying for four seats on the council, early morning returns showed  incumbent Kayla Paulsen well out ahead of the pack with 20.1% of the vote, 805 votes in the 1:37 a.m. returns.

Paulsen was followed by political newcomer James Drebin, who at 536 votes had 13.39%, and planning commissioner Lee Gilgan, with 499 votes, and 12.46%. In fourth was political newcomer Hilary Malcomson, with 484 votes or 12.9%.

The four top vote-getters will be seated.

They were trailed, in order, by Gregory Goularte at 11.46%, Jeremy Rametes, at 9.19%, Doreen VanTyne at 7.87%, Tracy Luttrell, at 5.92% and Jeffrey Olson, at 4.67%.

Wade Witherspoon, running unopposed for mayor, had 94.62% of the vote. Incumbent Marie Sproul is not running for re-election.

Witherspoon has served on the council for the last four years, and has also served in the past on the Newberg City Council.


Web Design and Web Development by Buildable