By News-Register staff • 

News-Register honored for work

Honored were:

- Reporter Starla Pointer, first place in personality profiling for Final Flight and second place in personality profiling for Life in Pictures.

- Managing Editor Steve Bagwell, second place in editorial writing for Let Not This Devastating Act Divide Us One From Another and third place in editorial writing for Arbitration Reversals Erode Accountability.

- Features Editor Racheal Winter, first place in headline writing for a selection of work.

- Former Regional Editor Karl Klooster, who retired earlier this year, second place in headline writing for a selection of work.

- Sports Editor Robert Husseman, second place in sports reporting for Football is Back at George Fox.

Willamette Week’s Nigel Jaquiss won this year’s Bruce Baer Award, Oregon’s highest honor for investigative reporting. He also won the award, which comes with a $1,000 cash prize, in 2004, 2011 and 2014.

First Freedom honors, reserved for the non-journalist making the largest contribution to the free flow of information, went to state information technology whistleblower Michael Rodgers. At grave personal risk, Rodgers leaked 6,000 of then-Gov. John Kitzhaber e-mails to Jaquiss to protect them from possibly being destroyed at the governor’s behest.

Rookie of the Year honors were bestowed on Lizzy Duffy of Oregon Public Broadcasting. She reported on Kitzhaber’s downfall for the public television network.

The awards were presented Saturday night at a banquet in Albany. The event drew about 50 journalists from around the state.

Jaquiss delivered the keynote address. SPJ President Hannah Hoffman, a former News-Register reporter, presented the awards.


Web Design and Web Development by Buildable