By NR Staff • 

Western Mennonite basketball players honored

Ten Western Mennonite basketball players and Pioneers boys basketball coach Gary Hull were honored by the Class 2A Tri-River Conference.

Hull was named boys basketball Coach of the Year, and seniors Jon Stubblefield and Victor Hess were named to the boys basketball first team. They were joined by Tri-River Conference Player of the Year David Ammons of Toledo, Blake Minten of Regis, Arthur Colleu of Central Linn and Cole Horner of East Linn Christian.

Wyatt Roth of Western Mennonite made the all-conference second team, and junior Alex Martinez was named to the third team. Senior Oliver Wisseman garnered honorable mention.

The Pioneers won the Tri-River Conference championship in 2013 with a 14-2 record (24-6 overall). Western Mennonite finished fourth at the Class 2A state tournament in Pendleton.

Hannah Thompson of Santiam was named girls basketball Player of the Year, and Kyle Tower and Dustin Lulay of Regis were named Co-Coaches of the Year. Regis won its fifth consecutive state championship in 2013-14, defeating Western Mennonite in the Class 2A state title game.

The Lady Pioneers were well represented, with sophomore post Emma Gibb and junior guard Jenna Christenson making the all-league first team. They were joined by Thompson, Jesse Morris of Regis, Beth Lorenz of Regis and Lakin Susee of Kennedy.

Freshman Madison Hull earned second-team honors, and sophomore Emily Loyd and junior Amy Rausch were named to the league’s third team.

Western Mennonite finished second to Regis in the regular season with a 14-2 conference record (25-5 overall).

Web Design & Web Development by LVSYS