By NR Staff • 

Chenea headlines 3A All-State softball team for Pirates

Five Dayton softball players were selected to the 3A All-State Softball team, including 2013 3A State Player of the Year Jamie Chenea.

Chenea, a senior, was 22-2 this year for the Pirates, who lost 9-3 in the 3A state championship game to Rainier in May. Chenea pitched 140 innings and had an ERA of 1.20 with 180 strikeouts. She allowed 86 hits and opponents batted .167 against her.

Joining Chenea on the All-State First Team is sophomore Cooper Ringnalda, who started at catcher for the Pirates (24-4). Sydney Van Noy, also a sophomore, was Dayton’s other First-Team selection. Van Noy scored all three of Dayton’s runs in the state championship game vs. Rainier.

Freshman Teddi Hop was an All-State Second-Team selection, as was freshman Racheal Fluke.

Willamina had three players earn All-State Honorable Mention honors. Senior Kaydi Milton made the team as a pitcher, junior Cheyanne Fasana was an outfield selection, and Kari Steere, a junior, was selected at first base. Willamina lost in the 3A state quarterfinals to Dayton. The Pirates defeated the Bulldogs three times this season.

Amity’s Anna Zepata was also an honorable mention selection.


Pitcher of the Year

Kylee Crape, Rainier

Player of the Year

Jamie Chenea, Dayton

Coach of the Year

Cary Gray, Rainier

First Team

Jamie Chenea, senior, Dayton; Kyle Crape, senior, Rainier; Kaylea Knox, senior, Rainier; Cooper Ringnalda, sophomore, Dayton; Taylor Wolf, junior, Blanchet Catholic; Sami Belleque, senior, Blanchet Catholic; Jordyn Parazoo, junior, Glide; Liz Trenkel, senior, Vale; Sydney Van Noy, sophomore, Dayton; Courtney Cox, senior, Pleasant Hill; Alexa Evans, senior, Glide; Jessica Gibson, sophomore, Rainier; Christie Tensen, senior, Vale; Krysta Slate, sophomore, Blanchet Catholic; Alex Crager, sophomore, Salem Academy; Carly Davison, senior, Santiam Christain.

Second Team

Sammi Cadwallader, senior, Toledo; Mykala Hari, senior, Blanchet Catholic; Amanda Hatley, junior, Glide; Taylor Yeager, senior, Toledo; Lexi Armenta, junior, Nyssa; Holly Burghardt, senior, Clatskanie; Markie Murrey, senior, Vale; Mikaela Shelton, junior, Colton; Nicole Whitney, senior, Santiam Christian; Ronni Gray, junior, Rainier; Teddi Hop, freshman, Dayton; Lauren Kessel, junior, Blanchet Catholic; Chelsea Lein, junior, Creswell; Katlyn Hashagen, junior, Nyssa; JoAnna Hernandez, senior, Nyssa; Racheal Fluke, freshman, Dayton.

Honorable Mention

Heather Graham, junior, Glide; Lindsay Miller, junior, Corbett; Kaydi Milton, senior, Willamina; Sasha Morcum, junior, Vale; Becky Patterson, sophomore, Colton; Bailey Gregory, junior, Vale; Shelby Stratton, senior, Nyssa; Alee Banuelos, junior, Blanchet Catholic; Mady Hanna, senior, Warrenton; Anna Zepata, junior, Amity; Shyann Cleaver, senior, Nyssa; Cheyanne Fasana, junior, Willamina; Bethany Woodard, freshman, Corbett; Kari Steer, junior, Willamina; Brittany Ensley, freshman, Harrisburg; Sara Winczewski, senior, Colton; Corlynn Perry, sophomore, Vale.


Web Design & Web Development by LVSYS