By News-Register staff • 

Roberts, Carter win Mac school board seats

Incumbent Tim Roberts won re-election to the McMinnville School Board in Tuesday's school and fire board election. He will be joined by Barbara Carter, a retired teaching assistant, who won a three-way race for a vacant seat.

Ryan Jones won a contested race for a seat on the Amity School Board and Terry Chrisman defeated a challenger for a spot on the Sheridan School Board, according to results from the Yamhill and Polk county clerks' offices. In Newberg, incumbent Todd Thomas won the race for the Zone 4 position.

In returns in the McMinnville School District, Roberts had 2,595 votes to challenger Bill Bordeaux's 2,185, or 54.3 percent to 45.7 percent. Carter led with 2,685 votes, or 55.5 percent, in a three-way race with Robin Swenson, 1,105 votes or 22.9 percent, and Nicholas Scyoc, with 1,0452 votes or 21.6percent.

In Amity, Yamhill and Polk county voters gave Jones 545 votes, or 63.6 percent. Challenger Trish Stephens had 312, or 36.4 percent, in the combined count of the two counties.

In Sheridan, Chrisman had 337 votes, or 62.6 percent, in the combined count of Yamhill and Polk counties. Muriel Ablard received 201, or 37.4 percent.

In Newberg, Thomas had 1,755 votes, or 53 percent, to challenger James Gleason's 1,553, or 47 percent.

In most districts, only one candidate filed for each seat. They were re-elected handily.

A few seats on fire boards will be filled by write-in. The clerk's office will count the write-in ballots over the next several days.

Web Design & Web Development by LVSYS