By Starla Pointer • Staff Writer • 

School board candidates can start filing

The actual opening date is Feb. 9, but that falls on Saturday. The filing deadline is March 21.

Board members will be elected in the May 21 election. Voters will receive ballots around the beginning of May.

Most school board positions are elected at-large, meaning they may live anywhere within the school district. Newberg, however, requires candidates to live in specific geographic zones within the Newberg-Dundee area.

About half of all Oregon school board positions are open in each odd-numbered years. Positions run for four years, starting July 1.

By district, positions open this year are now held by:

Amity -- Paul Dauenhauer, Sandra McKee and Craig Hudson.

Dayton -- Kathy Miller and Greg Whiteup.

McMinnville -- Tim Roberts, Kathy Cabe and Stan Primozich, who was appointed in late 2011 after Nicole Obrist resigned.

Newberg -- Board members are elected by geographic zones; a map of the zones is posted on the district website, Positions up for election this year are: Zone 1, held by Ron Mock, who was appointed in 2012; Zone 4, Todd Thomas; Zone 5, Jim Chogyoji; and Zone 7, Debbie Hawblitzel.

Sheridan -- Jason Alexander, Robin Rawlings and Larry Deibel.

Willamina -- Position 2, held by Clinton Coblentz, and 3, held by Loren Wassen.

Yamhill-Carlton -- Jami Egland, Rick Yeo and Carol West.

Web Design & Web Development by LVSYS