By News-Register staff • 

Grand Ronde Tribal Council elected

Reyn Leno
Reyn Leno

GRAND RONDE Incumbent Reyn Leno, in addition to Tonya Gleason-Shepek and Chris Mercier, were elected Saturday to the The Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde Council.

Leno, the current council chair, will serve a seventh consecutive three-year term. Ed Larsen nominated him at June's nominating meeting. He received 558 votes, or 15.47 percent.

Mercier served three terms, 2004-2013, before stepping down to enroll in law school at Michigan State University in East Lansing. Nominated by Denise Harvey, he finished a close second with 543 votes, or 15.06 percent.

Gleason-Shepek, who works on the tribal social services committee, collected 539 votes, or 14.95 percent. She was nominated by Val Grout.

Only nine tribal members were nominated to vie for the paid, full-time positions. Each tribal member could vote for three individuals.

Trailing the top three were incumbent June Sherer, 521 votes/14.45 percent; incumbent Kathleen Tom, 424 votes/11.76 percent; Brenda Tuomi Jeffers, 351 votes/9.73 percent; Ann Katherine Lewis, 328 votes/9.10 percent; Kevin Simmons, 227 votes/6.30 percent, and Cory Meneley, 115 votes/3.19 percent.

On nomination day, 3,996 tribal members were eligible to vote.

Web Design & Web Development by LVSYS