By NR Staff • 

Mac basketball players earn conference honors

Five McMinnville basketball players were honored by the Class 6A Pacific Conference Wednesday with selections to all-league first teams, second teams and honorable mention squads.

Seniors Gage Gubrud and Vince Boumann were both named first-team all-Pacific Conference on the boys’ side, along with Tigard senior Bryan Berg, Century senior Jamel Liggins, Forest Grove sophomore Taylor Jensen and Tualatin junior Jacob Bennett. Gubrud, a 6-foot-2 guard, led the Grizzlies with 18.9 points per game in 23 appearances. He also averaged 3.3 rebounds, 2.2 assists and 1.7 steals per game. Boumann, a 6-foot-7 center, averaged 17.0 points and 8.0 rebounds per game for McMinnville, starting all 25 games.

Grizzlies junior point guard Tanner Autencio was named honorable mention all-Pacific Conference. The 6-foot-3 Autencio averaged 4.6 points, 5.3 assists, 5.0 rebounds and 1.7 steals a game for McMinnville.

Tigard swept the boys’ individual awards, as Berg was named Player of the Year and senior Nick Kaelin won Defensive Player of the Year honors. Tigers coach Shawn Alderman was named Coach of the Year.

McMinnville finished second to Tigard with a 19-6 overall record (10-4 Pacific), dealing the Tigers their only loss in conference play. The Grizzlies advanced to the second round of the Class 6A state playoffs, where they were defeated by Sunset.

The Pacific Conference girls Player of the Year award went to Tigard’s Lexi Carter. Senior Emilee Cincotta of Tigard and senior Kaitlin Jamieson of Forest Grove were named co-Defensive Players of the Year, and Dylan Hettrich of Glencoe and Steve Naylor of Tigard were named co-coaches of the year.

McMinnville junior Audrey McMillan was named second-team all-Pacific Conference, and senior Emily Bliven garnered honorable mention.

The Grizzlies finished seventh in the conference with an 8-17 overall record (4-10 Pacific). McMinnville won a Class 6A state play-in game against McKay before falling to Beaverton in the first round of the Class 6A state playoffs.

Web Design & Web Development by LVSYS