By Nicole Montesano • Staff Writer • 

Hill cruises to Mac Council win

In McMinnville, City Councilor Scott Hill easily won a third term in office easily. He finished with 1,714 to challenger Nicholas Scyoc’s 996.

Hill, a banker with several years of prior budget committee experience, said this will likely be his last term in office.

He said that he was “just extremely excited” by “the opportunity to serve for another term on the city council, knowing there’s a lot of opportunity to continue the fine work” being done by council and staff.

Mayor Rick Olson ran unopposed for a second four-year term. Councilors Kellie Menke and Larry Yoder were also unopposed for new four-year terms.

The two incumbents listed on the ballot also won in Lafayette, although newcomer Chris Harper outpolled them both in winning election to a third open seat.

With only a relatively handful of votes left to count, Harper stood at 783. Councilor Marie Sproul had 575 and Councilor Chris Pagella 538.

Harper’s wife, Leah, is currently serving. However, her council term is slated to end in December, and his is not slated to start until January.

He has served on the city’s water committee for the past few years.

Chris Heisler ran unopposed for a third two-year term as mayor. Incumbents Gordon Douglas Cook and Mark Joy were unopposed for new two-year terms on the council.

Retired Newberg-Dundee Police Officer Tim Weaver led the pack in Dundee with 893 votes. He was followed by incumbents Jeanette Adlong at 877 and J. Randal Reddell at 709.

With a fourth hopeful trailing, that was good enough to secure the three open seats.

Web Design & Web Development by LVSYS