By Nathalie Hardy • Columnist • 

Bacon to chair Yamhill County Democrats

Only one county commission seat was open last year. Two will be open next year, and she may mount another bid.

“I’m still open to the possibility but haven’t made any final decisions,” she said.

As county chair, Bacon said, her top goal is to connect with registered Democrats who haven’t voted in recent elections. “I want to go back to grass roots and communicate neighbor-to-neighbor,” she said.

She said she wants to fill vacancies on party committees as a way to involve more people.

Local Democrats meet the fourth Thursday of the month, alternating between McMinnville and Newberg. They will be meeting at Izzy’s Restaurant in Newberg in May and Tequila Grill in McMinnville in June.

Their vice-chair is Janet DeWith, their treasurer Bernadette Hansen and their secretary Miriam Hendrix. For more information, call 503-537-2602.

Meanwhile, Al LeMay remains chair of the Yamhill County Republicans. The post of vice-chair is currently open.

Alaina Conroy is serving as secretary and Delinda Morgan as treasurer.

The group normally meets every third Tuesday, but plans to meet Thursday, May 16, this month because the third Tuesday is a local district election day around the state. It holds its meetings at 7 p.m. at the McMinnville Community Center.

For more information, e-mail or call 503-376-6250.



Web Design & Web Development by LVSYS