Online subscriber? Please Log In

Need Help? | Forgot Your Password?

2012 NCAA Division III Playoffs: By the numbers

Nov 16, 2012

By Ben Schorzman
For the News-Register

9: The number of undefeated teams in this year’s NCAA Division III playoffs. Linfield, Concordia-Chicago, Wisconsin Oshkosh, Hobart, Coe, St. Thomas, Mary Hardin-Baylor, Widener, Mount Union.

9: The number of playoff appearances by Linfield in Division III since making the move from NAIA in 1998.

4: The number of times the Wildcats have been rematched in the playoffs with a team they have played during the regular season.

94.67: The number of yards per game Linfield has been penalized on average this season, which is fifth most in Division III.

9.67: the number of penalties per game Linfield is given on average this season, which ranks 232 of 239 in Division III.

48: The number of times the Wildcats have sacked the other team’s quarterback, the most in Division III. Linfield averages 5.33 sacks a game.

11.22: The number (on average) of tackles for loss Linfield has per game, tops in Division III.

14th: Linfield’s total defense rank this season. The Wildcats are seventh in rush defense, giving up 1.88 yards per attempt.

15th: Linfield’s total offense rank this season. The Wildcats are seventh in scoring, averaging 44.78 points per game.

4: The Wildcats’ strength of schedule this season, as computed by It’s a big reason for Linfield earning a top seed in this year’s playoffs.

3: Pacific Lutheran’s strength of schedule rank this season.

65: Mount Union’s strength of schedule, the No. 1-ranked team by

10: The number of Division III championships won by Mount Union, the most by far in the classification. The Raiders have played in 12 of the last 14 Stagg Bowls. This season, they are first in total defense and first in total offense and scoring.

7-3: Wisconsin Whitewater’s record this year. The Warhawks have won four of the last five Division III championships but failed to make the playoffs this year. They were a combined 72-3 from 2007 to 2011.

Would you like to comment on this article?

Only online subscribers may comment on articles. Click here to see how you can subscribe.
Already a subscriber, please

Note: Some articles do not accept comments at all.

© 1999- News-Register Publishing | © The Associated Press
The News-Register and are owned and operated by News-Register Publishing Co., P.O. Box 727, McMinnville, OR 97128.
All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.
Web design & powered by LVSYS